sacrificing the reader for the writer

September 15, 2009 at 11:04 am 4 comments

Over the eight or so years I’ve been writing romance, I’ve met a few people who were readers and gave it up to become writers. No, I’m not kidding. They actually gave up reading.

One said she didn’t have time any more.

Another just abandoned a particular line she was aiming for. She’d loved reading those books before she tried to get published by that publisher. But she had to stop after she grew as she put it, “insanely jealous of published newbies I could write circles around.”

A reason that makes me nod with agreement — the fear of unintentional imitation. “I can’t read romance if I’m going to write it,” another writer explained. “I’m too afraid of unconsciously using someone else’s voice.”

In a conversation, I find myself adopting the cadences and phrases of the people I’m talking with. And I know that there are some writers who are particularly contagious. They pepper their writing with short sentences, maybe, or they have a particular sort of description they use at particular points in the story. I can see getting sucked into imitation.

But giving up reading? Oh, no. NO. Sometimes I’ll drop a genre. If I’m working on a historical, I probably won’t read other historicals for a while.

But the way I figure it, I have a list of things I’m willing to give up for writing: regular paychecks, ego (still getting those rejections, thanks), wrists, sanity.

Stories written by other people? Nope, not negotiable.

Kate Rothwell

Entry filed under: reading, writing. Tags: , .

Week 3 Writing with kids and life…

4 Comments

  • 1. RKCharron  |  September 15, 2009 at 11:32 am

    Hi 🙂
    Thanks for the great post.
    I could never give up reading either.
    Even if I was blind I’d read by Braille.
    But when I am deep into writing, I don’t read the genre I am writing.
    🙂
    All the best,
    Thank you for sharing,
    @RKCharron
    xoxo

  • 2. Teresa Bodwell  |  September 15, 2009 at 1:49 pm

    I discovered when I was writing Westerns that my cowboys started talking funny if I read too many English set historicals whilst writing the Western.

    I do tend to read outside the genre I’m writing at the moment–so while I’m writing a Western historical I’ll read contemporary. Of course then I read a bunch of them and I want to write one.

    I agree though that I can’t give up reading. You’d think having someone else tell the story would somehow stunt the imaginator (you know the little guy inside of us that churns out the stories), but the opposite is true. Reading books–especially good books–expands and enlivens the imagination.

  • 3. Becke Davis (Becke Martin)  |  September 16, 2009 at 2:05 pm

    I’ve always been a reader, but for a long time I only wrote non-fiction. When I started writing fiction, it really cut into my reading time. The thing is, the more I got into fiction writing, the more great authors I met — and, of course, I wanted to read their books, too.

    So in the two years I’ve been writing fiction — and non-fiction — I’ve continued to read an average of four books a week. I used to read a book a day, but my writing has cut into that. With that and the number of books I’ve been buying lately, my TBR pile is as big as a small library!

    • 4. Teresa Bodwell  |  September 17, 2009 at 1:47 am

      Oh yeah, that is a problem. Even when as I have less reading time, I can’t seem to slow down the book buying.


Donate now!

Support for your fellow readers and writers while you help fight cystic fibrosis! It's easy to donate online. Thanks in advance for your support!

How we’re doing…

In 2008, Unleash Your Story raised $11,366 for the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation. Our 2009 goal is $23,000. Dollars Raised
Free fundraising thermometer

What is Unleash Your Story?

A combined read-a-thon and write-a-thon that challenges readers, writers and published authors to unleash their stories and make a difference.

Our 2009 goal is to raise $23,000 for the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation, the leading organization in the United States devoted to cystic fibrosis. Register now!.

Questions? Check out our FAQs.

Subscribe to Unleash Your Story: Make a Difference by Email

Unleash Your Story

↑ Grab this Headline Animator

find_us_on_facebook_badge1

More questions? Check out our FAQs.

Can't participate in the read/write-a-thon? Click the UYS logo to donate directly to the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation.

sm-uys-square

Print our 2009 flyer to help spread the word.

Support This Site

Pacesetter Author

Lori Wilde is our 2009 Pacesetter Author.

Lori has sold 47 books to 4 major New York publishers--5 books coming out in 2009. She's prolific and dedicated to writing regularly to keep up with all those deadlines!

Lori promises to set a sizzling pace for all our writers to follow! Her goal for the event is 60,000 words!

To learn more about Lori, visit her Pacesetter Page

Michelle Buonfiglio Pacesetter Reader

We are proud to have Michelle Buonfiglio as our 2009 Pacesetter Reader.

Michelle hosts Barnes & Noble.com’s new “Heart to Heart” (H2H) daily romance fiction blog and is the creative force behind RomanceBuyTheBook.com (RBTB), a fun and positive place where readers and writers hang to talk love, sex, family, life -- and, of course, romance novels

Michelle's goals are to read 10,000 pages and write 10,000 words in her blogs and comments.

To learn more about Michelle, visit her Pacesetter Page

Feeds


