Discovering your passion

September 19, 2008 at 5:50 am 8 comments

Welcome guest blogger Wendy Crutcher. The fiction buyer for a large southern California library system, Wendy has been blogging for the past five years at  The Misadventures of Super Librarian.

When you’re a librarian, people assume that you love to read. This is an easy and safe assumption to make, because frankly, who has ever met a librarian who doesn’t like to read?Librarians come to the profession from a variety of different paths. Some of those reasons might be the desire for a change in career, to work with children, or because they’ve been bitten by the research bug. Me? I chose librarianship because I knew I wouldn’t be good at anything else. Because for me, walking into a library, being surrounded by books, is like coming home.

The act of reading means different things to different people, but for me, it’s always been a comfort. When I walk into a library, looking at those rows upon rows of books, I see nothing but possibilities. There in front of me lies the whole world, and it is right at my fingertips. I can go wherever I want to go, do whatever I want to do, and be whoever I want to be. I am no longer tied down to my reality. Books, all those endless possibilities, give me the freedom to explore a reality outside of my own.

When I’m having a bad day, or need to get away from it all, I head for books. I find the nearest bookstore or library, wander about aimlessly, and browse to my heart’s content. And if getting away from it all isn’t a possibility? I wander back to my own book shelves, and “play.” I read back covers, reorganize my shelves, and once again fall in love with all of the options that books have to offer.

I love books and reading, and by conjunction, I love authors. They give me a world outside of my own. They take me to a place that is better, truer, and stronger. If I listen real closely, I can hear that book whispering to me that everything will be alright. Life is tough. Life is hard. But there’s a silver lining waiting for you. You just have to work hard and be patient.

I want to share that feeling, that passion, with other people who so desperately need to hear that whisper. Books and reading are my passion. I can’t imagine my life without either.

Wendy Crutcher

Entry filed under: reading. Tags: , , .

5 donors x $5 = 5 free books! Help us make our goal!

8 Comments

  • 1. Nettisue  |  September 19, 2008 at 12:41 pm

    Well said and a very hearty AMEN!

  • 2. Lori Devoti  |  September 19, 2008 at 1:44 pm

    I read somewhere recently where they quoted a number of what they termed something like hard-core readers–people who read every day, and it was IMO shockingly low. I don’t consider myself hard core at all–but I read every day. I just can’t imagine life without it.
    And I totally get what you are saying about the feeling. When I was young I can remember walking into our small town library and feeling exactly that way. I remember the feel of the air conditioning and the smell of the books. I remember everything, because it was just so special.

  • 3. Dev  |  September 19, 2008 at 2:32 pm

    Excellent post, Wendy! I completely understand your passion for books and reading ~ I feel the same way.

  • 4. katiebabs  |  September 19, 2008 at 3:39 pm

    Wendy, everything you said I exactly what I think. Thank you for libraries and the librarians. 😀

  • 5. Jennifer Y  |  September 19, 2008 at 7:14 pm

    Well said! Books and reading are also my passion…don’t know what I’d do without them.

  • 6. Alice  |  September 19, 2008 at 8:18 pm

    I want to be a Librarian! 😀 No, really. I do.

  • 7. Rosie  |  September 20, 2008 at 2:55 pm

    Bliss. Sublime. You said it all.

  • 8. Wendy  |  September 20, 2008 at 8:25 pm

    Thank you everyone for the nice comments. And thanks for Teresa Bodwell for inviting me to post!


Donate now!

Support for your fellow readers and writers while you help fight cystic fibrosis! It's easy to donate online. Thanks in advance for your support!

How we’re doing…

In 2008, Unleash Your Story raised $11,366 for the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation. Our 2009 goal is $23,000. Dollars Raised
Free fundraising thermometer

What is Unleash Your Story?

A combined read-a-thon and write-a-thon that challenges readers, writers and published authors to unleash their stories and make a difference.

Our 2009 goal is to raise $23,000 for the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation, the leading organization in the United States devoted to cystic fibrosis. Register now!.

Questions? Check out our FAQs.

Subscribe to Unleash Your Story: Make a Difference by Email

Unleash Your Story

↑ Grab this Headline Animator

find_us_on_facebook_badge1

More questions? Check out our FAQs.

Can't participate in the read/write-a-thon? Click the UYS logo to donate directly to the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation.

sm-uys-square

Print our 2009 flyer to help spread the word.

Support This Site

Pacesetter Author

Lori Wilde is our 2009 Pacesetter Author.

Lori has sold 47 books to 4 major New York publishers--5 books coming out in 2009. She's prolific and dedicated to writing regularly to keep up with all those deadlines!

Lori promises to set a sizzling pace for all our writers to follow! Her goal for the event is 60,000 words!

To learn more about Lori, visit her Pacesetter Page

Michelle Buonfiglio Pacesetter Reader

We are proud to have Michelle Buonfiglio as our 2009 Pacesetter Reader.

Michelle hosts Barnes & Noble.com’s new “Heart to Heart” (H2H) daily romance fiction blog and is the creative force behind RomanceBuyTheBook.com (RBTB), a fun and positive place where readers and writers hang to talk love, sex, family, life -- and, of course, romance novels

Michelle's goals are to read 10,000 pages and write 10,000 words in her blogs and comments.

To learn more about Michelle, visit her Pacesetter Page

Feeds


